Working out Biblically

“5 more to go!”

Sign . . .

Its that time of year again. Time to get back in shape. There is something incredibly interesting about building muscles. Whether one is going from good shape to great shape or couch potato to ironman many of us are familiar with the pains and aches the first couple of weeks when we have been away from the gym.

I have heard a few testimonies’ of men and women completely changing their lives when one day they decided they didn’t like the way things were going. All I have to do is search through the commercials and almost immediately I’ll see how a woman dropped 80 pounds in a year. Or some commercial that shows a man swimming in his pants that were 7 sizes big a few months ago.

The stories are all the same.

“I want to be around for my kids” or “I was told by my doctors that I only had a few months to live unless I made serious change in my life.” Then we see the hard work they had to put in to get to that BMI number or that dress to fit in. And maybe for the first time in their lives they feel like they are in control.

Those stories always amaze me. Men and women determined to do anything and at whatever cost to get to these goals that they thought they never could do. It is not easy to leave that comfortable couch and get the body into motion. The first weeks seem like they were designed to wean out those who are not truly serious about their goal. That is because it hurts! It is simple physics like the commercial says, “A body in motion stays in motion.” And when you lift those first weights, run those first steps, turn the pedals your body is in shock.

Many of us have been there. The body is crying out in pain through the sweat drops pouring down from all over the skin like Angel Falls. That is because the body is literally breaking down your muscles and burning energy at an insane rate to compensate for the radical change that is occurring (at-least that is how I understand it).

After a few weeks the pain slowly begins to diminish after each workout and your results are going through the roof. The arms are getting bigger; you can climb that set of stairs easier without running out losing breath. And you feel great. Every result from yesterdays workout is encouragement for tomorrows workout but still you push play, you get up early, and you never miss a workout.

Before I knew Christ I was a slob. Not physically, not emotionally, finically, but inwardly and spiritually. I was a real spiritual couch potato. When I heard the Gospel and saw that my life was on the line my affections were moved. I didn’t say no. Yes Lord, yes Lord. The first few weeks were great because I knew I was “working” for a better means.

But Christ doesn’t call us to change our minds. Becoming a Christian is not a makeover or a different way you view the world through the Bible. Because guess what? Makeup comes off. Your thoughts and feelings change in the ocean of emotion. There is no anchor, and no hope for those who think they can “work” for this kind of radical life change.

Yeah spiritually speaking I was more aware of my sins. But I was more aware of other peoples sins then my own. I called a spade a spade. Even though my brothers in Christ had the speck in their eyes I missed the log in my own. But I was blind.

You cannot build muscles unless they are broken. The military takes a bad kid from High School, breaks him down, and transforms him into a mean green beret. Jesus says that He is the only way. And for everyone in this world Jesus is not like anyone who has ever walked the Earth. Jesus doesn’t just ask for your worship or your love He wants your life and the only way he can fully take it from us is if we are willing to be broken. God cannot use a man who still wants the things in this world. Why should God use someone who doesn’t truly love Him? No one can have two masters as Jesus said.

Be broken like Christ was broken. So that Christ can build you up in the ways that He has called you according to his purpose (Eph.2: 10). That in the life to come you know that you will also be exalted with Christ.

Matthew 23:12, “Whoever exalts himself will be humbled, and whoever humbles himself will be exalted.”

Let me ask you reader, who is the most exalted in heaven? Jesus is! He is sitting at the right hand of God. There is no name greater then His. There is no kingdom established across the galaxy and on all the earth greater then the Kingdom of the one who dwells in it Jesus Christ. That is because he died the worse death possible. And I am not talking physically. Jesus Christ literally became the object of all God’s wrath that was deserved for all mankind. Even thou he was equal with the Father he did not count equality with Him it says in Philippians. He paid off the Kings unfathomable debt that not even a 1,000 life times and more could pay off. Jesus is so high and lifted up and we are so little but God demonstrated his love for us in order that this great high priest could be in a relationship with everyone who is willing to surrender their lives completely to the King of all Kings!

The choice is simple. Weakness is not something the world praises. Humility is laughed at and submission for Christ sake is foolishness. Listen to the world and die with the world or pursue Christ and live life eternal with an infinite all satisfying God who loves you!

Leave a Reply

